A Legacy: In Memory of Gene Train

Gene Train, a longtime missionary, teacher, visionary, and school administrator passed away this morning after a life well spent serving God.

Nuestro “Director Eugenio” (Our Principal, Gene)

Tonight there will be a service to remember him, and many, many in Camiri, Bolivia are working hard already to prepare to commemorate a great man. He was well known in our part of Bolivia, having started the “Escuela Cristiana Camireña”, a school where hundreds, even thousands of students studied and learned about Christ. He also was a well-respected teacher and preacher, showing great knowledge and love for the Scripture.

What’s more important is that he also applied it. My father tells me of long trips they used to take, sometimes in his little old green 4×4, sometimes riding a mule or a horse. Hours, even days they would travel, to reach remote “haciendas” (farm houses), to give the Gospel to the remote areas of Southern Bolivia.

Even though our brother Gene Train was bed-ridden in his last few years, people around town constantly remembered him. It was fairly common for me to be greeted on the street and have them ask me “Como esta Don Eugenio?” (“How is Mr. Gene?”).

Two months ago, Andrés Segovia, a longtime teacher at the Christian School, wrote this on his website:

[F]or sixteen years I have had the honor and privilege of knowing and working with him and his wife Loraine; veteran, pioneer, brave missionaries, full of love for the Lord. Everything has a time under the sun and today he won’t be here at the office and so many times I saw him tirelessly working, but his example is my inspiration to continue in this ministry as long as the Lord permits and hopefully also recognizing my time to stop.

When I first saw the news this morning, being myself in Peru, I posted this on Twitter:

Brother Gene Train was 92, and we are thankful for those well-spent years. He inspired a town and his legacy transcended generations. May he inspire us now to continue on, work tirelessly for God, and live for others. He can now, like the Apostle Paul, say this with confidence:

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Henceforth there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, will award to me on that Day, and not only to me but also to all who have loved his appearing. (2 Timothy 4:7-8)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Joel C. Rosenberg's Blog

Tracking events and trends in Israel, the U.S., Russia and throughout the Epicenter (the Middle East & North Africa)

Mattix Media

The Mattix Family. Jesse Janel Fionna and Isaac serving the Lord in Tarapoto, Peru

Facultad Bíblica Camiri

Discipulado de un año para jóvenes cristianos comprometidos con Dios.

The Roundhill Life

Bits and pieces of a round hill life

Christopher R. Mattix

Evangelical missionary, author, preacher. Follow his ministry and writing here.

Perichoresis

Called to belong to the Community of the Triune God

Andres SGV17's Weblog

"that you also may know my affairs and how I am doing..." Eph. 6:21a

