Onwards and Upwards

Dear friends and family,

 

September was quite full and crazy, yet a lot of fun – wouldn’t change being a missionary for any other job! Got to teach, preach, travel, and enjoy God’s many blessings in so many different places. It is a privilege to be a child of God and to have true purpose in life. We are on our way through, pilgrims to another country, and we must do our best to use our time wisely while we have it. Surely this includes rest, enjoyment, and much laughter, but always remembering our calling as Ambassadors of Heaven.

I have come home at last! This is my real country! I belong here. This is the land I have been looking for all my life, though I never knew it till now…Come further up, come further in! – CS Lewis

*             *             *

Bible School: From mid-August to late September I taught more than 65 hours at the Bible School on “Sects and Dangers”, “Christian Worldview and Apologetics”, and “Homiletics”. Teaching is something I enjoy very much, and I strongly believe that the teachers’ primary job is to inspire the students to want to know more and apply what they have learned to their lives. I’m constantly trying to improve, refine, and expand this ability that God has given me, for He longs for us to strive for greatness in our ministries, jobs, and life in general.

I also traveled to Santa Cruz a couple times to preach, as usual, and really enjoyed the time at different churches and youth groups.

Lima, Peru: A little over a week ago I landed in Lima, invited to give a four-day conference at a church there. I gave five messages on the life of Joseph, focusing on suffering, integrity, and forgiveness. The overall theme was the amazing transformation that God made in Joseph’s life, from a snotty, arrogant youth to a man of moral fiber, trust in God, and unconditional forgiveness – would make a great future president for the U.S., don’t you think? Oh well.

The hospitality I received there was incredible, such a wonderful group of believers. I also gave a short seminar to the youth on Sunday afternoon (turned that day into a crazy marathon from 8 am to 11 pm, because of two other messages morning and night), and they had a huge amount of questions, above and beyond the normal amount I usually receive. Already the elders asked me to return next year for their week-long anniversary, so we are working-out a date.

Bogota, Colombia: I arrived in Bogota on Tuesday, not knowing anyone personally aside from just emails (by the way, I was supposed to travel to Tarapoto and then to Bogota, but the airline prices were simply too high that it felt immoral to pay that, so I had to settle for Bogota this time around. Next May I’ll make it to Tarapoto, Lord willing). Jim Fleming, president of ECS Ministries and former missionary to Colombia, made me aware of the ministry here and specifically their printing press. It has been an educational week, learning about their system which is quite elaborate and professional. I’m thinking over the possibility of starting one in Camiri, but because I’d like to do it very well I think it may be a project for further down the line.

Aside from that it has been a great experience to be in Colombia for the first time, already having great conversations with several brothers and missionaries, as well as having several opportunities for ministry and preaching. I travel back to Bolivia on Tuesday, thankful for my short trip but also eager to get back to work at “home”.

Upcoming: Hypothetically things will calm down during October and November, but already my schedule is filling-up with invitations.

  • Study on Revelation will continue, starting with chapter 3 next Friday. It’s been such a joy to study that book and to focus on Christ above all.
  • Regional Conference in Monteagudo (4th time in a row, I believe) in mid-October, topic is yet to be determined
  • A couple trips to Santa Cruz are already in the works, including a joint-meeting of all the youth in the city
  • In mid-November I will be speaking at a youth camp in Montero, will be my first time speaking there
  • Would like to make a trip to Argentina in November, but we will see it would be the best use of time
  • Several projects are in the works, including starting a housing project for Christian college students, finishing my book project in Spanish on the Holy Inquisition that has taken me a year, and possibly starting a coffee shop

Prayer Requests:

  • That I might use the extra time in October and November to God’s glory, in whatever opportunities He shows me (with specific regards to a few projects)
  • To be a blessing in Colombia over the next few days and to have a safe trip back to Bolivia
  • That I might finish my book project in the next few weeks and then be able to find the right publisher for this historical fiction novel

 

Thank you for the prayers, encouragement, and support.

God bless,

Christopher.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Joel C. Rosenberg's Blog

Tracking events and trends in Israel, the U.S., Russia and throughout the Epicenter (the Middle East & North Africa)

Mattix Media

The Mattix Family. Jesse Janel Fionna and Isaac serving the Lord in Tarapoto, Peru

Facultad Bíblica Camiri

Discipulado de un año para jóvenes cristianos comprometidos con Dios.

The Roundhill Life

Bits and pieces of a round hill life

Christopher R. Mattix

Evangelical missionary, author, preacher. Follow his ministry and writing here.

Perichoresis

Called to belong to the Community of the Triune God

Andres SGV17's Weblog

"that you also may know my affairs and how I am doing..." Eph. 6:21a

