God’s Great Experiment

Dear friends and family,

The Lord blessed my January with struggle and suffering. I say “blessed” because it brought me to my knees and closer to our loving heavenly Father. Truly all things from the Lord are for our greater good and lead to maturity, greater faith, and a fuller joy. We should never be afraid of suffering, for as Job taught us, “… He knows the way that I take; when he has tried me, I shall come out as gold” (23:10, ESV). God is doing great things in each of our lives and it’s a privilege to see His hand leading us towards a better tomorrow, that we might be always more useful to Him.

God has not been trying an experiment on my faith or love in order to find out their quality. He knew it already. It was I who didn’t. – CS Lewis

*             *             *

Audio Series on Job: Early in January I finished recording a 26-part series on the book of Job, in what is surely one of the favorite (and longest) series I’ve ever put together. Job is undoubtedly one of my favorite books, as it beautifully combines poetry, philosophy, logic, and science into an eternal classic on suffering, faith, and perseverance. The Lord is at the center-stage throughout the whole book, the one who has not yet shown His face but is at the center of every longing of Job and the focus of all the discussions. Finally, the Lord God Almighty does appear, showing His glory, His absolute authority, and His compassion.

If you know Spanish or know someone who does, feel free to use this link to listen and/or download the whole study: Estudio de Job.

 

US & Europe Trip: Lord willing, my next update email will be from New York City. For a couple years now I had the desire to go see my brother Jerry and his family in Cyprus, and the month of March opened-up beautifully for such an opportunity. Since I will be making such a long trip, both distance and time, I decided to make the most of it, combining ministry opportunities and tourism. I simply love history, architecture, and art, so being able to see cities like Rome and Jerusalem will be a wonderful privilege. I’m so thankful to the Lord for this opportunity. Here is a simplified itinerary of mine (if you want more details, just sent me a note):

February 27: Santa Cruz, Bolivia – New York, USA

Purpose: 8 days of preaching, visiting mainly Spanish-speaking assemblies in the city

March 6-7: New York, USA – Rome, Italy

Purpose: 4 days of tourism; will be staying with the Pascuale’s, hoping to see their ministry

March 11: Rome, Italy – Paphos, Cyprus

Purpose: 7 days to visit Jerry and family, see the ministry, and tour the island with them

March 18: Larnaca, Cyprus – Tel Aviv, Israel

Purpose: 5 days of tourism (mainly in Jerusalem); also attending a conference with Jerry & Sarah

March 23: Tel Aviv, Israel – Madrid, Spain

Purpose: One-night layover; will be staying with Grant Ferrer and will be speaking that evening

March 24:  Madrid, Spain – Miami, USA

Purpose: 4 days of preaching and final shopping; will be staying with the Fritchey’s

March 28-29: Miami, USA – Santa Cruz, Bolivia

Purpose: Get home and get back to work!

 

Preaching: January was slower, as usual, yet I did travel to preach in Villamontes once and twice in Santa Cruz. This weekend I will be speaking at a youth camp near Santa Cruz, giving five messages, three workshops, and a devotional in just over three days. I also have one more trip scheduled to Santa Cruz before getting ready to leave on the aforementioned trip.

Once I return from my trip to the US and Europe I will have under a week to get everything ready for my first of four modules at the Bible School here in Camiri. Thankfully all the material is ready, just a matter of some editing and getting it all printed-out for the students.

 

Prayer Requests:

  • Pray for the youth camp this weekend, that the Lord would speak through me and inspire the listeners to really long to serve the Lord with their whole heart
  • Thankful that the Bible School is already full, with 22 internal students and a family of four who will be more independent. Will be a large group!
  • Pray that we have a great year at the Bible School – we have yet to finish several projects and line-up one more teacher, yet all is falling into place
  • Pray for my trip to the US and Europe, that the Lord would keep me safe and use me to His glory throughout

 

Thank you for the prayers, encouragement, and support.

God bless,

Christopher.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Joel C. Rosenberg's Blog

Tracking events and trends in Israel, the U.S., Russia and throughout the Epicenter (the Middle East & North Africa)

Mattix Media

The Mattix Family. Jesse Janel Fionna and Isaac serving the Lord in Tarapoto, Peru

Facultad Bíblica Camiri

Discipulado de un año para jóvenes cristianos comprometidos con Dios.

The Roundhill Life

Bits and pieces of a round hill life

Christopher R. Mattix

Evangelical missionary, author, preacher. Follow his ministry and writing here.

Perichoresis

Called to belong to the Community of the Triune God

Andres SGV17's Weblog

"that you also may know my affairs and how I am doing..." Eph. 6:21a

