How Much Longer Do I Have?

(Featured Image: Genesis and I are blessed to be receiving premarital counseling with this good friend and brother in Christ)

Dear friends and family,

King Hezekiah was the sovereign over Israel in the times of the Prophet Isaiah, while facing the terrible Assyrian assault. God miraculously rescued the nation when Hezekiah humbly begged for mercy for his people. Isaiah recounts how 185,000 were killed in a single night, by “the angel of the Lord”, a pre-incarnation of Jesus Christ. What a victory was won!

Yet, not long after this, King Hezekiah became deathly ill, being still somewhat young. When Isaiah prophesied his death, Hezekiah again humbly begged for mercy, throughout the night, that he might have the opportunity to yet serve the Lord. There, at the precipice that leads to death, he mused that it is only the living who can worship the Creator, only those with life who can yet accomplish feats for the glory of God. When he despaired of seeing another day, the Lord mercifully extended his life fifteen more years. Surely, he did not soon forget the value of each day and each minute. Soli Deo gloria!

“I will not waste my life! I will finish my course and finish it well. I will display the Gospel of the grace of God in all I do. I will run my race to the end.” – John Piper (paraphrasing the Apostle Paul)

*             *             *

FullSizeRender_1.jpg
Supper with two of Genesis’ sisters, Keren and Naomi

Wedding Planning: My upcoming marriage with Genesis is little over 2 months away and there is still quite a bit to do. It’s been a combination of enjoyment, hard work and even stress, yet we are ever growing closer to the Lord. Most of our family members will be able to attend the wedding, from all over the world, and we hope it is a memorable and delightful moment for all. We are so excited to see what the Lord has in store for us next year, and we have begun to tentatively plan for several trips, events, projects, etc. May the Lord guide us each step of the way in this adventure. She is a wonderful, virtuous and talented woman, I know the Lord has incredible plans for her life and I am so blessed to soon become a part of it. We are praying that He would guide us, each step of the way.

Writing Projects: Late last night, as the deadline loomed, I sent the English version of Confessions of an Inquisitor to the editorial! My dad did an excellent job on the translation, and I took the last few weeks to work on the style and make several corrections. The English version should be available late this year, and I am so eager to share this work with you all! The hope is to make it as readable and enjoyable in English as so many have found it to be in Spanish. The comments keep on coming from around the world about the impact of the book, telling how the book encouraged, enlightened or inspired them. Just yesterday I heard from a reader who purchased the book in Madrid, Spain, being so impacted by it that they decided to visit an Inquisition museum to learn more about it and even sent me some pictures with the book at the location. What a blessing!

IMG_8178.JPG
A caricature the editorial made of me to go on the back of Héroes. Fun!

My second book, Héroes, came out on October 6th in eBook format, and is available here, on Amazon. The paperback should be available in the coming days. We are looking forward to seeing what the Lord will do with this second work.

Bible School: I am in my last week of teaching my last module of four at the Bible School, having started last week with this module on Eschatology, a study of the End Times. We are working through Daniel and Revelation, building an End Times scenario, discussing possibilities and being encouraged at the approaching return of the King of Kings! The students have been very interested and engaged throughout, and every sort of wild, speculative and interesting questions and comments has come up. Truly a fun course to teach!

Preaching: Since my last writing, I’ve made a couple trips to (a very hot) Villamontes down South, and several trips to Santa Cruz. The series on Luke is continuing weekly at the two churches I visit on a weekly basis in Camiri, and it’s encouraging to see the good feedback. Although my trips to Santa Cruz are becoming longer and more frequent, with the upcoming wedding and a desire to be with Genesis, I am thankful for the Lord’s help in being able to keep-up with these varied activities.

Next week I will be travelling to La Paz, Bolivia’s seat of government, to be one of several speakers at a national Pastor’s Conference (sponsored by several Evangelical churches). It will be a celebration of the 500 years since the Reformation and they have asked me to be the first speaker at the conference, giving a message on the reasons that inspired the Reformation to begin. They have also asked me to share some about my book – it will be available for purchase at the conference – as well as being part of a panel throughout the conference, to answer questions. Thankful for this important opportunity!

IMG_8276.JPG
The flier for the upcoming Pastors Conference in La Paz

Prayer Requests:

  • For continued wisdom and guidance for Genesis and myself, as we prepare for the wedding and married life together
  • That the various book projects would bring blessing and good use to those who read them
  • For a good finale to our class at the Bible School, for the students to be inspired to not only understand the End Times, but long to give it all to the Lord in this life
  • That the upcoming trip to La Paz would be a good opportunity and of mutual encouragement

 

Thank you for the prayers, encouragement and support.

God bless,

Christopher.

Find out how to support our ministry
2 thoughts on “How Much Longer Do I Have?

Add yours

  1. Dear Christopher: It’s always good to hear from you with many good news of many of your accomplishments. Will be praying for the time you will use wisely especially from now until the Wedding, and have a successful sharing time at the Pastors’ Conference, and book sales. Will certainly like to have one of English one as soon as it will come out. Blessings to both of you. Kazuko

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Joel C. Rosenberg's Blog

Tracking events and trends in Israel, the U.S., Russia and throughout the Epicenter (the Middle East & North Africa)

Mattix Media

The Mattix Family. Jesse Janel Fionna and Isaac serving the Lord in Tarapoto, Peru

Facultad Bíblica Camiri

Discipulado de un año para jóvenes cristianos comprometidos con Dios.

The Roundhill Life

Bits and pieces of a round hill life

Christopher R. Mattix

Evangelical missionary, author, preacher. Follow his ministry and writing here.

Perichoresis

Called to belong to the Community of the Triune God

Andres SGV17's Weblog

"that you also may know my affairs and how I am doing..." Eph. 6:21a

